Cricket World Cup Winners List T20

The Men’s ICC T20 World Cup 2022 is being played in Australia from 16th October to 13 November 2022. The ICC T20 World Cup Series (men’s) was started in 2007. So far 7 T20 World cup series have been played i.e in the years 2007, 2009, 2010, 2012, 2014, 2016, and 2021. India won the first edition of the T20 world cup in 2007.

The men’s T20 cricket world cup winners list is given below;
2007: India
2009: Pakistan
2010: England
2012: West Indies
2014: Sri Lanka
2016: West Indies
2021: Australia


The details such as the winners, runner-ups, and the match results of the final match of the T20 world cup are given below;
Year Winner Runner-Up Result
2007 India Pakistan India won by 5 runs
2009 Pakistan Sri Lanka Pakistan won by 8 wickets
2010 England Australia England won by 7 wickets
2012 West Indies Sri Lanka West Indies won by 36 runs
2014 Sri Lanka India Sri Lanka won by 6 wickets
2016 West Indies England West Indies won by 4 wickets
2021 Australia New Zealand Australia won by 8 wickets


Some facts about T20 World Cup:

Started In: 2007

First Edition winner: India (2007)

Most successful Team: West Indies (Won T20 world Cup twice i.e in 2012 & 2016)

Most runs: Virat Kohli, India (1065)

Most Wickets: Shakib Al Hasan, Bangladesh (46)

Next World Cup: 2024 (Host: West Indies & United States)



To know about the ODI (5o overs) World Cup Winners list, Please click here.